Heat Me Up, Hot Stuff

Every winter I mix up a batch of spicy hot chocolate mix. There’s something about the unexpected mix of nutmeg, cinnamon and chili powder that makes me feel a bit subversive in this season of overly-frosted sugar cookies.

It’s daring. It’s sophisticated. And I don’t have to share it with my children. They can have the packets of grey imposter cocoa and dehydrated marshmallows. They love it. They can have it.

If you care to join me in this spicy indulgence, below is my recipe. Alternately, I ecourage you to try the Spicy Maya Hot Chocolate from San Diego’s Chuao Chocolatier. They have a few holiday shopper-friendly storefronts. Plan accordingly.

Spicy Hot Chocolate Mix

  • 1 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 cup sugar (white or brown) or Splenda sugar substitute (but, honestly, it’s the holidays – use the sugar)
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper or ancho chili powder

Add 2 tablespoons to 8 ounces of hot milk. Curl up in a cozy blanket and enjoy. Ahhh.

Leave a comment