Open That Bottle!

Saturday, Feb. 27 is Open That Bottle Night. “OTBN” was started eleven years ago by The Wall Street Journal’s husband-wife wine critic columnists, Dorothy J. Gaiter and John Brecher. OTBN is the night you can open that bottle of wine you’ve been saving for “just the right occasion.” According to Gaiter and Brecher, instead of saving that special bottle for some high-expectation-laden event, just go ahead and drink it and celebrate the memories that come with it.

Now, I’m not a big wine collector . . or even a small wine collector, but I am a big wine drinker. I attribute it to my place of birth: Napa Valley. I have about three dozen bottles of assorted wine in my cellar (also known as the glued-together wooden rack on the floor in the back of my hall closet). Some white, some red, some bubbly. None of it very expensive. None of it French.

The only contender I have for OTBN is a magnum of sparkling wine/champagne from Schramsburg from 2000. Opening a magnum of champagne is a commitment. That’s not an undertaking for just one or two people. That’s a party. Looks like I have some invitations to send out for the 27th.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

